The Foundation Board

The Foundation board chaired by Professor Karl-Göran Thorngren from Lund, Sweden represents the supreme governing body of EFORT Foundation and consists of 10 members elected for 2 years. Vice Chair is Professor Pierre Hoffmeyer from Geneva, Switzerland.

The board meets, at least, twice a year and issues bylaws and other internal guidelines and procedures required for the administration and management of the Foundation. Day-to-day operations are executed by the secretariat led by the Secretary, Professor Philippe Neyret from Lyon, France.

In order to be able to delegate part of the Foundation’s central functions, the board of EFORT Foundation has established standing board committees, such as the Grants Committee Education and the Grants Committee Research. Additionally, an Advisory Committee Research assists the Grants Committee Research with the evaluation of grant applications. The Committee composes of a large number of experienced orthopaedic and trauma doctors from the European National Associations and Specialty Societies. The Foundation has established also the Advisory Committee Education as well as one for the realisation of public campaigns.

Prof. Dr. Karl-Göran Thorngren

Vice Chair
Prof. Dr. Pierre Hoffmeyer

Secretary General
Prof. Dr. Philippe Neyret


President of EFORT
Asst. Prof. Dr. Per Kjaersgaard-Andersen

Immediate Past President of EFORT
Prof. Dr. Önder Aydingoz

Prof. Dr. George Bentley
United Kingdom

Prof. Dr. Nikolaus Böhler

Prof. Dr. Enric Cáceres Palou

Mr. Stephen R. Cannon
United Kingdom

Mr. David Limb
United Kingdom

Dr. Lukas Morscher

Prof. Dr. Miklós Szendröi

Prof. Dr. Jan Verhaar
The Netherlands

Co-opted member
Prof. Li Felländer-Tsai